SASS Wire Forum

Who else makes their own leather items?

Johnny Dollar

I know by far I'm not the only one.. saw someone in the classified looking to for tools etc. so I started wondering if others make things to use for SASS. I haven't seen a thread on leather making so I'd like to see things made by other folks.

I've been making stuff for many years on and off but it really took off when I joined SASS. I learned how to do it from my Dad who started as something to do after coming back from overseas after WWII. He was in the Navy. I'm using all his tools plus some I’ve bought along the way. There always seems to be one more tool you need.... :)

My most recent project was a set of holsters and belt for my Uberti 1872 open tops in .45 colt in the style of the California Slim Jim.

Anyway, I've made a few simple holsters and other things in the past but this project took on a different direction then the others.

I decided to make these lined, use some conchos and nickel spots. I glued two pieces of 5/7oz leather for the holsters and a single piece of 11oz for the belt. They are in a cross draw configuration since that how I shoot. The tooling pattern on the holsters was found online and the belt pattern came from an old camp chair my Dad made decades ago. The chair is nowhere to be found but the instructions were still in my leather library..... :) I tooled my alias initials in the center.

The belt is 3" wide and I used a forged iron buckle that I bought....

So here are the photos. The photo showing the liner being glued in looks dark. I took those with my iPad and it came out looking like that but they are lighter as in the rest of the photos. Sorry for all the photos!

IMG_0325_zpsilc17pel.jpg

DSC_2623_zpscruvjyz4.jpg
DSC_2622_zpsiq2i19pf.jpg
DSC_2621_zpsftqhldtz.jpg

DSC_2627_zpsmjkpftfh.jpg

DSC_2624_zpstlmcse2z.jpg

IMG_0313_zpshakklgik.jpg

Couple other things....

A set of holsters for my cap and ball 1860's

IMG_0099_zps91c4bcd6.jpg