SASS Wire Forum

Looking for the softest "squishy" grind to fit recoil pad for a youth 97'

Deuce Stevens SASS#55996

Setting up a 97' for a little girl who is a bit shy of recoil. Yes I have tailored the loads correctly and the stock will be cut to fit her.. With the choices in grind to fit pads out there I'm wondering if anyone has experience as to which is the softest. Thanks for the help.

Deuce, Have you given any thought to also installing a recoil reducer into the stock. They do work and will give her an extra cushion.

When I was a POST Firearms instructor for a very large Police Dept. and Sheriff's Office combined that had over 1200 personnel to train. We always had problems with the small frame females when it came to the

shotgun training. I've seen them actually drop the gun from recoil.

I know you have tons of experience with shooting but training takes a different approach. We always

made the lightest loads that we could load to start out training and then advanced in stages. This

always gave them the needed confidence. I'm talking about loads so light that the shot had very little speed. There is a special made pad that was made from a material that made the shooting of a shotgun

seem like firing a small caliber rifle. Please excuse my old man memory as that was in the early 80's, I'm sure it's still made.

Please don't think I'm some kind of nut but you may also put a Kevlar type pad under her outer wear.

I hope you work this out so that she grabs that shotgun without thought. Good Luck David

Howdy,

I just saw some new foam stuff that is being used in the very newest football helmets.

It might have some application as a recoil buffer too.

Shotgun stops me from shooting and Im real interested.

AND be careful looking around the web for info.

Check dates on info, this has been a concern for years.

One other thing is a pad that goes on the shoulder under the shirt.

Remember not eliminating recoil just cooling it down is the goal.