SASS Wire Forum

Gunfighter question: which gun to shoot first and lead changes

Doc Fill 'Em 67797

I want to try Gunfighter at some point. Do you always start with the same pistol or does it depend on the scenario?

Example: Three pistol targets to be engaged in a 1,2,3,2,1 sweep. Would you start with the left pistol or right? Do you change leads? How do you keep track of which pistol has fired 3 rounds and which has fired 2 at the end of the first sweep?

Hello Doc!

I started shooting Gunfighter in September. I am sure you will get a post from Buck D Law or Randy Saint Eagle with a link to Bucks " Gunfighter 101". It contains a lot of excellent info and will steer you in the right direction. I'm sending this note from my phone so don't have access to my copy right now but will check back later. You could search on the SASS Wire and find it easily too.

You will also have some good advice come up from the experienced Gunfighters shortly I'm sure.

From my experience I can tell you that eventually you will want to become more proficient and start pistols strings with left or right hand depending on the situation. You will want to use both guns for split pistols and consider which gun you want to fire last so you can be picking up the next long gun.

I can tell you the advanced stuff may take a while to get to as everyone learns at their own speed. Buck's teaching aid will tell the way to keep your round count going and how to deal with split pistols etc. Seems every time I learn a new shooting string and figure I have them figured out something new comes along. I can tell you that you need to prepare for a lot of fun and grinning g a lot!!!

Good luck and enjoy.

I just started shooting gunfighter myself. For me, trying not to get to complicated, I would start with my left pistol (I am left handed) and just go left and right, continuing until the stage was completed. It seems doing any other way would be mass confusion, but that is just my thoughts on the subject.