Jump to content
SASS Wire Forum

Rifle Hammer question?


Rance - SASS # 54090

Recommended Posts

At a local monthly match today...

 

One shooter was shooting, they said, a Winchester 92 made by Miruko??

 

The hammer would not rest in a down position...

If you pushed it down.. with no round chambered..

It would come back up maybe a 1/4 to 1/2 an inch..

 

When they levered and shot it, it would rebound to that position also.. 1/4 to 1/2" space

I don't see that as a problem while levering and shooting..

They said.. That's the way it came and no one has ever said a word about it...

 

I asked them how they ever staged it with the hammer down

on empty chamber as per SASS rules..

They said "That's the way the rifle works.. No one has ever said anything.."

 

Is this legal.. or not?

 

Rance ;)

Thinkin' it can't be legal... :wacko:

But... I've been wrong before :blush:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sounds like a rebounding hammer. In the position you describe, it would be considered down on an empty chamber.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My limited knowledge of this situation is in AGREEMENT with Irish Tom.

 

Rebounding hammers ARE DOWN when they are in their rebounded position.

 

Now I gotta go find the rule.

 

 

..........Widder

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yep, rebounding hammers are perfectly legal. If you don't know about them, you should learn, or refrain from calling "hammer not fully down" penalties on your pards. You will find them on some hammered and even hammerless shotguns, too, but those don't entice a penalty call because they can come to the line fully cocked.

 

Good luck, GJ

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That said, it is possible to have them 'delawyered' to the original design. I have several Japanese manufactured Winchesters that have been returned to original design. The rebounders can give you light primer strikes that do not fire the round. Had this problem in a 94 Big Bore before it was worked on.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Garrison Joe...

That's why I asked the question.. I'm learnin'..

 

no penalties were called on shooter...

I asked here on the wire to find the info..

 

Rance ;)

Thinkin' I found the info in the first 3 replies..

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.