SASS Wire Forum

Comancheria Days 2014 - Stieler Ranch, TX

Shooting Iron Miller

Have you checked your calendar lately? That’s right; it’s only 40 more days until Comancheria Days 2014! What, you haven’t signed up yet? I know you’ve been thinking about it lately, so why not visit our website, download the registration form, fill it out and turn it in? It’s that simple. www.texicanrangers.org

We have lots in store for the event this year and it marks a very special time for the Texican Rangers. We are celebrating our 20th Anniversary as a Cowboy Action Shooting club, and we’d love for you to be a part of it. I think this club is really special. Since I started shooting here I’ve always felt welcome (and not just because I’m Sheriff Robert Love’s better half). Everyone is friendly and more than willing to help. In fact, on several occasions seasoned shooters have come up to me to give me pointers, letting me know if I make a slight change in the way I move or the way I pull a gun, I stand a pretty good chance of improving my time. By the same token, and thankfully so, they tell me when I’m doing something in an unsafe manner, and I really do appreciate it. That’s what good shooters do. Even though this club has some really competitive shooters, it’s still a club that exudes a friendly atmosphere and down-home feeling.

Here are some special features being offered this year at Comancheria Days 2014:

• RO I and RO II classes will be available on Wednesday, April 9. Dusty Lonestar will be teaching the classes. Let us know if you are interested and we’ll put your name on the list.
  • Thursday morning we’ll have 3 Wild Bunch Stages and Long Range available for all who are interested. The Wild Bunch posse is lookin’ real good so be sure to get your name included if you have a hankerin’ to shoot 1911’s. And don’t put that 1911 away because on Friday afternoon you’ll have a real neat opportunity to shoot it from Blazing Saddles. that’ll be a real hoot, I guarantee it!