SASS Wire Forum

.243 VS .223

Slow morning.

Which would you prefer for up to 300 yard shooting on varmint or small game?

I kinda like the .243 but I don't have one. Maybe I should.

ED. The .223 ammo should be more available in normal times however.

I have both but I shoot the 223 most of the time for varmints and for my deer hunting.The bullets I shoot are really nasty for head shots on deer.

I have zero experience with either and doubt that I will ever gain any.

But I have always been intrigued with the .243 Winchester and it's ballistics.

Heck, I doubt that I could even see 300 yards with a glass eye.

I guess I am prejudice against the .223 because of the military application of a .22 caliber round.

I must say that I have never compared them on paper or at the range so anything I say can be

taken with a grain of salt.

I've lusted for a .243 since I was a teenager, but for some reason every rifle acquisition has been something else - either because of specific need or availability.

First rifle I bought when I was eighteen was a tough choice between a Marlin 336 in .30-30 or a Savage 99 in .243. Opened a magazine (Field & Stream?) one afternoon and there was an advertisement for a "special deal" Marlin package with a scope. That did it. Been a good rifle (carbine) but I very quickly came to my senses and ditched the scope in favor of a Lyman receiver and Marble's Sheard front sights.

And I still lust for that '99 in .243....

you need them both, the 223 for near windless days, the 243 for days with a breeze.....

least that's what I tell my wife....

pbcc

Just looking at the reloading specs and seems the .243 with a 90 grain bullet is a little faster than the .223.

Don't know that it means anything but interesting.

Know what you mean about the Marlin 30.30 Hardpan. Wish I had never sold that little Carbine that I had back

in the day.

A 22-250 has some smoke alright. For chucks and varmint of small size, i guess it is the duck's nuts.