SASS Wire Forum

Caliber Size and Firearm Selection Help Needed!

Lucky L

Greetings...

I'm a newbie to the cowboy shooting. My son(13.5yrs and big kid) and I are starting our journey and are needing some input/feedback on caliber size and firearm selections. I have been going back/forth between 45 and 357 for revolvers. My concern on going with 357/38, which I know will be cheaper to shoot and less recoil, is that it is my understanding, I would not be able to shoot all possible events? such as classic cowboy and B western? Also if my son or I would ever be interested at some point in "quick/fast draw" shooting, is there the caliber size limit? I would rather get caliber and firearms that would allow me to be able, should I want to, shoot all/most events, without having to buy extra firearms.

Right now Im looking/leaning towards the Uberti El Patron or the Cimarron Evil Roys? Does anyone know if the Uberti El Patrons are really that much better than the Uberti Cattleman(matching set/pair)..or could a person save money and get the Cattlemans and have the same "work" done cheaper? I have held the Ruger Vaqueros and Ubertis and noticed there is a difference in weight and appearence. As far as the 45 caliber, I have a friend that will reload the ammo for me, till i buy a reloader myself, which is also in the near future!!

As far as the Rifle and shotgun, Im open. I have looked at the Uberti 1873(several versions!!) and the Cimarron. It is my understanding that Uberti/Cimarron is basically the same, just that Cimarron imports Uberti's and puts "their spin/work" on the guns, if I'm understanding that correct? What do most prefer, a sidexside shotgun or a pump '97 style? What is your input on hammerless or hammer sidexside shotgun?