SASS Wire Forum

Now this is something I do not understand.

Product Information

Liberty Halo-Point Civil Defense ammunition is a high velocity, extremely accurate load designed for self-defense. The 78 Grain Lead-Free Fragmenting Hollow Point bullet travels at 1900 feet per second, resulting in 12 inches of ballistic gel penetration and a permanent wound cavity greater than 5 inches in diameter. When tested through denim cloth into ballistic gel, this load penetrated almost 8 inches deep and produced a wound cavity 6 inches in diameter. This lightweight, high velocity round yields less felt recoil and has an effective range of 25 meters. This ammunition is new production, non-corrosive, and requires no weapons modifications.

I guess they are worried about you getting lead poisoning if you get shot with it.

I'm no doctor, but I think lead poisoning would be the least of your worries at that point... :wacko:

Uhhhh.......yup!

Liability is a crazy thing.......if they're worried about a dead perp sueing for lead poisoning........ :huh:

....maybe we are missing some point....if anyone figures out what it is let me know. :blink:

I am guessing they are promoting the fact that the user won't be exposed to lead.

.......That's all I need.......one out of about 10 different types of ammo that saves me the trouble of lead exposure! :lol:

Effective range of 25 meters? Your target better have a big hole in it or they will run right up to you and kick you to death. :angry:

Effective range 25 meters! :wacko: Really? :unsure: I have shot sparrows farther away than that with a BB gun! :lol:

The basic premiss is to preclude "over penetration" in an urban environment. Also, very little retained energy if the frags do manage to exit. A round that expends most or all of Its energy in the target is considered to be very effective. Just hope your target can read ballistic data. I'll stick with a big heavy bullet that may cause lead poisoning thank you very much.

Coffinmaker