SASS Wire Forum

Semi Wadcutter Bullets In Lever Action Rifle

Slick2

Hi folks, I am new to CAS and this forum, actually I have my first match this coming weekend. I want to pose a question regarding semi-wadcutter ammo in my Marlin 1894. The semi-wadcutter feeds great, no problems there but I was wondering how safe it is. I have used swc in the 158 grain and the flat nose of the bullet exceeded well past the primers center, no problem there either. I just purchased a 100 rounds of 148 grain swc thinking the nose was the same size (was not allowed to open box and inspect) When home and inspecting what I purchased I found that the 148 grain has a smaller flat nose about the size of the business part of the primer. I can't return the ammo and was wondering if I am getting too paranoid regarding the primers going off in the tube. It was suggested by someone that regardless of the smaller size flat nose of the 148 grain swc bullet, the lead is so soft it could not detonate the primer.....I would like some thoughts from any of you who have used swc in your rifles. I prefer an email if you don't mind. SlickLeather1@aol.com

Thanks

sl

Shouldn't be a problem but then I can't see the bullet shape.

If you are worried, I suggest shooting the 158s in the rifle and the 148s in the revolvers.

Then look for other shape bullets more suited to our game.

Shouldn't be a problem but then I can see the bullet shape.

If you are worried, I suggest shooting the 158s in the rifle and the 148s in the revolvers.

Then look for other shape bullets more suited to our game.

What he said.

But normally SWC's just don't do well in lever guns.

If it feeds ok with SWC then thats fine. But would think others might feed even better.