SASS Wire Forum

Uberti vs Ruger

bigguy6907

I'm new to CAS and have been looking to purchase side arms. I was at the gun shop comparing the Ruger Vaqurero and Blackhawk to the Uberti. I'm not a fan of European makers, but the feel of the Uberti action was amazing, as compared to the Rugers. I'm not sure the Rugers could ever get so smooth even with best action job.

I understand the Rugers are larger and more durable, but the Uberti seems to be more of an accurate period piece, based on the Colt.

I'm looking for feedback on these comparisons. Also, which caliber, 45 or 357? I understand the financial benefits, but about performance.

FYI, I have a S&W 457, 45 Auto and my son. and I are looking into reloading, since we both shot 45 autos.

Thanks for all of the great advice. I appreciate the hospitality.

I hope to be out shooting soon.

Hammer Down

Which Ubertis? There are Ubertis and there are Ubertis. Ranging from Hombres to $1500 S&W copies. If you are talking Colt Peacemaker clones, I have a few. The only ones I use are my USFA high ends from Long Hunter. But mostly I use my several Long Hunter Rugers.

If you don't think Rugers can be slicked to be smoother than Ubertis you just haven't tried those that have been massaged by Long Hunter, Wes Fargo, Jimmy Spurs or any of our other fine smiths. There is a reason most of us shoot Rugers in CAS (not CBA) and that reason is they hold up way better. New Vaqueros are the same size as Colts and clones and are much more durable. If Ubertis didn't break so much and could hold up to the rigors of CAS like Roogers then Rugers wouldn't have the stranglehold they do.

But they do. I take my Rugers to CAS matches (and my USFAs), the Ubertis stay home. Shooting is fun, constantly replacing broken hand springs and bolts on Ubertis, not so much.