SASS Wire Forum

Question: SASS Rules & Holsters?

Willy D

Hello,

I am new to SASS/CAS and am deciding if this is something I "REALLY" want to do.

If I were to become a member & shoot the matches locally, My question is: If my holster & belt set-up were the cavalry type with flap covered (flap secured) holsters, would I have to have the flap down & secured (retention) prior to draw and shoot from these type of holsters or could they be used with the flaps tucked back into the belt?

I think I am really going to enjoy SASS/CAS events, but this part is bugging me in me deciding what sort of belt/holster rig I would like. I do know in the local 3-gun & IDPA rules a holster that has a securing device such as a shroud, hood, flap or other retention device MUST be utilized (as in actively engaged) prior to drawing & shooting.

Thank you,

William

:FlagAm:

You need two pistols. I think you could tuck the flaps under the belt.

Willy D , what they do at 3-gun and IPSC will have little bearing on SASS/CAS matches. I do not think you would be happy with the type of rig you are descibing. Best go out to some matches and see what folks are using , get some ideas before starting to put together a rig.

Life will be easier that way. Rex :D

Howdy

Many of us use holsters that have a leather strap that slips over the hammer to secure the gun. During normal range operations while we are going about our normal posse duties of spotting and shagging brass we keep the strap over the hammer to keep the gun in place. When we load our pistols at the loading table we slip the hammer strap off the hammer so we can pull our pistols and shoot. Once we are done with the stage and have unloaded our guns at the unloading table we reholster and slip the hammer strap in place again.

You can see in this photo of my rig the straps are over my hammers. They are easily adjusted and slip right off when I holster my guns at the loading table.

Holsters