SASS Wire Forum

Courtroom Tales

An attorney friend of mine sent me the following "weird news" article from the ABA Journal and it got me to thinking. Uh, oh!

Since many of you spend or have spent time in courtrooms as part of your living, what are some of the strangest, goofiest, outrageous things you've seen in court?

Man Stabs His Defense Attorney With Pencil

Doc Ward? Loophole? Anyone...?

When my daughter first started working as a probation officer, she was assigned to the county drug rehab court. She had one probationer (meth-head) that told her he could no longer work because HE had uterine cancer! :mellow::blink::wacko::rolleyes:

As a young man I worked as a manager in the bookkeeping department of a large Detroit bank. I was told by my boss that I needed to appear across the street in the court house at 1:00 pm (1300 hours to some}

and testify to the signature on a disputed check. I took all of my records and went across the street after my lunch. I got there about ten minutes early and there was a case going on inside the courtroom, so I waited outside in the hall. We were on the second floor. A lot of loud noise was coming out of the courtroom but I could not distinguish what was being said and I had no idea by whom. Promptly at 1 PM (1300 hours) the doors flew open and two men came out of them. One was a small man about 5 foot tall and the other was a tall man about 6 foot four or so. The little guy had his finger out and he was giving the tall man what for. They walked across the hall toward the stairs. I guess the little guy hit the right note because just before they got to the stairs the big guy stopped, takes off his glasses, and puts them in his coat pocket, grabs the little guy but the shirt front, and pops him in the chops, knocking him down the first flight of stairs to the landing,

The little guy got up and the big guy hit him again, knocking him down the stairs to the lobby. That was the last I ever saw of either of them.