SASS Wire Forum

New Member Firearm Queston

Curley Fryes

Is a requirement to shoot revolver, rifle, and shotgun or can you shoot just revolver?. Reason I ask is I'm not too good with a rifle or a shotgun.

Is a requirement to shoot revolver, rifle, and shotgun or can you shoot just revolver?. Reason I ask is I'm not too good with a rifle or a shotgun.

You need to shoot the long guns. Lots of guys will be happy to show you how.

Before getting into this sport I knew next to nothing about pistols and the long gun shooting was way different than anything I'd experienced before. I've had a lot of fun learning. You can too. :)

Sure, you can just shoot the revolvers, just take the misses you didn't shoot! Usually 10 rifle and 4 shotgun =14 misses = 70 seconds!!

Ok....so you're saying until I CAN shoot just the revolver and take the penalties on the longguns until I am more comfortable with them?

Curley, I reckon you could, but the best way to get comfortable with them, is to shoot them.

As I said, when I started CAS, I really hadn't ever shot a shotgun. It took me a while to buy all of the guns, so I just showed up with what I had, ready to take misses for what I didn't yet have.

Each time several folks offered up guns for me to shoot. If you are not comfortable with the rifle or shotgun, by all means tell the timer operator and they will coach you through the stage. Pretty much like getting private lessons on each stage!

I have never run into someone who showed up and just shot pistols and no long guns.

Get out and give it a try!!

Grizz

Curley, a lot of the ranges around here rent long guns you can use at their location. Anyway, between meeting up with the local CAS folk, and the option to try some out at a local range, you'll find your long gun legs.

Just remember to take it at whatever pace is comfortable for you regardless of how much urging you get to do otherwise. Rushing things will only make you uneasy and less likely to eventually enjoy it.