SASS Wire Forum

Revolving Carbine legal for SASS as rifle?

Scratch McCoy

Im new to SASS and CAS and I was wondering if the Uberti Revolving Carbine can legally be used as a match rifle. Appreciate the help pardners!

In a word..................No.

Not trying to be rude here, but read the SASS rule book, go to a few matchs and see what the folks there shoot.

And welcome to the fire !! ;)

Im new to SASS and CAS and I was wondering if the Uberti Revolving Carbine can legally be used as a match rifle. Appreciate the help pardners!

No, they are not legal. Shooter's handbook page 9'

"Rifles or carbines used in the main and team matches must be original or replicas of lever

or slide action rifles manufactured during the period from approximately 1860 until 1899,

incorporating a tubular magazine and exposed hammer. Rifles with box magazines may not

be used. Certain shooting categories require a specific type of rifle and ammunition to be

used."

Shooter's Handbook page 9: "Rifles or carbines used in the main and team matches must be original or replicas of lever or slide action rifles manufactured during the period from approximately 1860 until 1899, incorporating a tubular magazine and exposed hammer."

The problem with the revovler is that you'd have to reload in the middle of the stage.

-Solo Sam

As a new shooter, I would direct you to your local club. There you should try out several firearms that the shooters there use. Believe me they will be more than happy to let you try them on for size and feel. The revolver carbine looks great but you don't get scored on style.

As a direct answer to your question - Main match rifles must be lever or slide action.