SASS Wire Forum

An observation on CAS trends over time

We had a couple of guys on sunday shooting with left hand cross draw holsters, and it occurred to me how few cross draw holsters you see these days compared to the mid-1990 when I started shooting CAS. Which got me thinking about changes in taste in the cowboy game.

I started shooting CAS in 1994, and then most shooters wore a strong side conventional holster and a weak side cross draw holster.

The predominant caliber was .45 Colt with 250-grain bullets (though 200-grainers were catching on fast).

The "best" rifle for serious competitors was the 1894 Marlin, but the most common rifle was the Rossi '92 Winchester clone with '94 Winchesters also well represented

By far, side by side shotguns outnumbered 1897s

Today, most shooters I see favor two conventional, butts to the rear holsters (which I've always used)

The predominant caliber is .38 spl. (I think there are three reasons for that, 1. Competitiveness, 2. the aging membership, 3. the economics of ammo)

The 1873 Winchester generally gets the nod as the best rifle, though that is far from universally agreed to. However, '92 Winchesters have virtually disappeared and '94 Winchesters have certainly disappeared.

And 1897s are much more prevalent now, overwhelmingly so sometimes.

Anyway, that's what it seems like to me. This isn't a value judgement, just a reflection on how tastes change over time.

The trend is toward fast-but-reliable. That seems to be what wins.

Other than your conclusion about 97s being prevalent now, I'd agree with the trends. In shotguns it has evolved, as far as I have seen, from: any old double barrel -> Stoegers and cheap doubles -> 97s (as Chinese reproductions came in) -> high end doubles (SKB, BSS, TTNs), as time has passed.

Good luck, GJ