SASS Wire Forum

New to SASS looking for 45 LC pistols and rifles

Hey yall,

As my post says, Im new to SASS. I dont have all the guns I need so Im a very interested buyer. I have one single action uberti 45 LC with a rig but thats it. I live in Warner Robins GA. I ask you email or call me(478-297-0149) because I dont check this as regularly as I do my email and my phone is always on me. I would absolutely need photos also. Thanks for you time.

-Too Tall Jones(Lance Moore)

Hey Pard,

quick suggestion:

what class do you want to shoot in? 45lc will put you in classic cowboy or some of the black powder categories.

Most people start with 38's secondary to cost and recoil and variety of classes you can shoot in and be competitive.

When asking for guns in 45lc without stating a brand or grip preference you are asking for trouble!!! :blink:

Guns: try guns out at your local club first- bisley grip vs plow handle vs birdshead

reliability go with ruger ( may spend more intially but will have these for your great great grandkids to enjoy) :)

probably look for stainless guns due to various weather conditions in this sport and little time to clean when traveling long distances with your guns.

rifles: one way uberti 73 or 66 I prefer 73 easier to clean by dropping the side plates

length 18-20 inch (people will try to sell you the 24in, 30in but if you want to be competitive shorter barrel rifles fit easily in and out of window and door frames effortlessly

rifle stock is important as well Pistol grip vs straight stock ( fast guys usually like pistol grip) again more money though

shotgun: you did not ask for it but I will tell you anyway.

Classic cowboy you need a lever action 87 or hammered double (preferabley TTN) this class uses 45lc

if you have anything other than these two you will not be allowed to shoot in this class.