SASS Wire Forum

2 Wheeled Guncart C/G? - Pics added

Wagon Box Willy

Howdy Pards,

I'm going to through together a gun cart this week if time permits. Since I'm a newbie I plan on this being a simple version and after I'm in the sport a while I can design one that's right for me.

Here's a pic of a cart that I will base my design off of this Simple gun cart

I plan to have the base be a rectangular box, likely using cherry planed to 3/4x6 (got a thousand bf of the stuff) and using simple half blind dovetails for the joints. The box will likely extend beyond the wheels to the rear to accommodate another ammo style box. I'll make the boxes with finger joints to make them look authentic. I want removable boxes so that lifting it into the bed is easier.

So my question is where do you guys like the C/G or in this case pivot point on these two wheeled carts? Do you like all the weight in front of the wheels or say a 3:1 ratio for and aft? Which way makes it easier to push/pull?

I picked up some 12" plastic spoke w/bearing wheels from Walmart yesterday for 18 bucks each. I could also go grab two more and make it a 4 wheeled cart if that really makes more sense.

Thoughts?

Thanks

-Willy

The cart that I built is similar to the one in the picture. It has a removeable ammo box up front and wheels all the way in the back. When the ammo box is full, the center of gravity is way forward which made it tough to move. I ended up modifying the handles from one like is shown in the picture (shopping cart style) to something more like plow handles. They give a lot more leverage to tilt the cart and also make it easier to control since your hands are wider. This also allowed me to add a small shelf between the handles to hold shotgun shells. Since you need to refill your shotgun belt after every stage, you don't want to have to bend down to get into the ammo box everytime. The plow handles also make convenient hanging hooks for gun belts, coolers, etc.