SASS Wire Forum

Uberti 1866 problem

Noz

Here's the problem.

New after market firing pin with spring.

With new spring in place. After a couple of cycles of dry fire, spring sticks in channel and does not retract the firing pin.

With old spring in place. The firing pin retracts but the pin goes forward with a lot of resistance. Feels like pushing it through sand (poetic license). Not smooth. The old spring also has a lot more strength. I have an occasional "failure to fire" primer and I'm wondering if this grityness and/or the strong spring is the cause for that.

This is not a new problem. I have been fighting this for 6-8 months.

I've polished everything I can see that can stand being polished.

Any thoughts?

Base of the firing pin to big and dragging?

Pin should slide easily thru the hole, does it? No? Hole out of round or burr?

WD40 the living daylights out of the assembly ( good cleaning).

Base of the firing pin to big and dragging?

Pin should slide easily thru the hole, does it? No? Hole out of round or burr?

WD40 the living daylights out of the assembly ( good cleaning).

Nope, it slides easily.

Put the old one back in.

Way too simple. Old one is a trifle too short.

Noz,

This may seem like an odd question, and I'm not trying to be a wise guy... but...

You say you are dry firing, are you using dummy rounds?

Do you have something in the chamber to receive the impact of the pin?

Is the firing pin extrension sticking in the bolt? I had the same problem with light hits and there was a burr in the bolt that caused the firing pin extension to drag when the gun was fired and the firing pin to not retract.

Fingers (Show Me MO smoke) McGee