SASS Wire Forum

Guest minnesota ole

Guest minnesota ole

Ok I'm totally new to this but I realize I need to reload. I'm sorry if you have recently answered this but what is a good starter for reloading. No one I know reloads so I don't know where to turn

I shoot one caliber (well two if you count shotgun), 45 LC for both rifle and pistol and since I'm in Frontier Cartridge it's a black powder round. Being nervous about BP and a progressive, I went single stage and got a Lee cast press and a fair amount of Lee hand tools; trimmers, primers, pocket cleaners, etc. I also got a Midway tumbler and a set of RCBS 12 ga dies and Lee 45 LC dies. For the 45 I used the advice of just enough powder to allow for slight compression under my Lee cast 200 grain bullet and found the Lee scoop that would do that for me. In the shotgun I ended up with a .9 ounce load and the same volume scoop of powder. Loading is a bit slow, but fun. After a match or shooting session I clean my weapons first then the following day is spent reloading to fill the void. I try to keep 480 rounds of 45 loaded at all times and 160 shotshells. That should take care of any shoot I may come across. I have had great luck with the "steel" Lee products, also their molds. You will be steered towards Dillon, Hornady and a number of other products and ultimately the choice is yours, but Lee has been good to me and starting out you can't beat the price. Also going single stage, it's easier to get a handle on all aspects of reloading step at a time vs. a progressive. There is also less chance for a big mistake I feel, but again the choice is up to you. Best of luck and welcome to the reloading world. Smithy.