SASS Wire Forum

Reloading 45 Colt

D.A. Stranger

Pards,

I'm fairly new at reloading, but have succesfully loaded a bunch of .38 SP for my pistols and rifle without any problems. I have a pair of Colts, .45 cal. that I would like to start using and reloading for. I would like any recommendations on the weight of the bullets to use. It will be for pistols only. I am currently using Bullseye powder for the 38, but I've noticed in the 2 reloading manuals that I have, there are hardly any recipes using Bullseye. Any reason for this? Thanks for any help and info you care to provide.

Da Stranger

I generally shoots 185gr outta my pistols,, BP or smokeless @ about 700-750fps.

Howdy, Pard,

Although we aren't allowed to post specific loads on this site, let me give you the reasoning behind my general recommendations:

The .45 Long Colt was, of course, originally designed for black powder (back in 1873). As such, it has a large powder space, even with modern solid-head brass cases. (The original military cartridge case was made of "copper"...actually gilding metal...with a folded head and internal central fire primer.) That said, smokeless powders are quite a bit more dense, to the point that, with the possible exception of the newer Trail Boss powder, most recommended loads they will take up less than half the available space in the case.

Smokeless powder requires about 5,000-7,000 psi (NOT CUP) pressure to begin stable burning. The powder must be ignited and pressure in the combustion space come up quickly enough before the bullet moves out of the case and encounters the rifling leade. To insure this, you should have a good interference fit between the bullet and the case neck (the expander plug of your die set should be .001-.003" SMALLER than the bullet diameter), and a firm ROLL crimp of the case mouth into the crimp groove or ahead of the forward driving band on the bullet.