SASS Wire Forum

opinions wanted on Beretta Stampedes

Throckmorton,23149

Spotted a pair of these at a good price recently,but just didn't have any idea if they were good relialbe shooters,or ??

In general,would 600.00 a pair for like new looking Stampedes be a good price ,or would I be buying boat anchors.?

You will get a lot of negative responses and some positive responses. The positive responses will generally come from those that actually own and shoot them. I have owned 4 pair of Stampedes. Three of them were fine from the start. One of those I have been shooting as my primary guns for 6 years; one is my backup pair; and the third was sold to Coyote Dave to get him in to this game 4 years ago. He is still shooting them. The fourth pair was not right from the start. They went to spend a little time with Gunslinger and came back working great. I sold them after that, however, because they were 3 3/4" with birdshead grips and just didn't fit my hand.

In summary, if the naysayers talk you out of this one, please pass the current owner's info on to me. You will probably get several offers like this too. :rolleyes:

I started out with them in 45 colt... I liked them a lot. But went to RNVs in 38 after 2 years.

My shooting pard started out with them also, but had problems so he traded them...

They were about $450 each at the time.

I have a pair of Stampede Bisleys that I started shooting as my match pistols this year. Probably less than 1000 rounds through them so not a long track record but so far so good - no problems and manufacturing quality seems to be top notch. I have seen some posts stating that the transfer bar safety systems are problematic but I have not had any issues.

Prices I have seen recently for new Stampedes are around the $430 range. So $600 for a like new pair sounds like a deal to me.

BB