SASS Wire Forum

Trailboss Squib / Wimp loads

Bender B. Rodriguez

Howdy,

Like many of you, I fire more than six thousand rounds per year from my Cowboy guns. I have been reloading for nearly forty years without a failure of any round to go "boom". In the last two years I have experienced a very infrequent (less than 1 in 800) "wimp" load. These clear the barrel no problem, but sound different enough that I always stop and check the bore to make sure that nothing got stuck in there. Generally the round hits the target very low, or misses entirely.

In checking my reloading notes, I have discovered that this has only happenned when using Trailboss in my .45 and .44-40 loads. It occurs somewhat more in my pistols than in my rifles, but I do shoot my pistols more in practice, so it evens out. Besides Trailboss, I also use Unique and Titegroup -- but neither of these has displayed this alarming tendency -- not even once.

I would like to collect any information that you pards might have regarding this phenomenon. Please let me know your experiences.

Bender B. Rodriguez

bender@katygunsmithing.com

Howdy,

Like many of you, I fire more than six thousand rounds per year from my Cowboy guns. I have been reloading for nearly forty years without a failure of any round to go "boom". In the last two years I have experienced a very infrequent (less than 1 in 800) "wimp" load. These clear the barrel no problem, but sound different enough that I always stop and check the bore to make sure that nothing got stuck in there. Generally the round hits the target very low, or misses entirely.

In checking my reloading notes, I have discovered that this has only happenned when using Trailboss in my .45 and .44-40 loads. It occurs somewhat more in my pistols than in my rifles, but I do shoot my pistols more in practice, so it evens out. Besides Trailboss, I also use Unique and Titegroup -- but neither of these has displayed this alarming tendency -- not even once.