SASS Wire Forum

New to SASS and need a lever rifle in .357. Recommendations?

Hopalong Strong

I'm new to Sass and would love your insight.

What would be a good lever rifle in 357? I have a pre 64 winchester 1894 in 30-30 and I love it but that won't work for SASS.

I want 357 since my Blackhawks are in 357. However if another cal is far superior I could use that. I cast and load my own bullets so another caliber would not be a huge hardship.

I am just starting and don't want to spend a fortune but I also do no want something that I will only use for a year because it is crappy. It does not have to be new. I don't mind hunting for what I want.

Thoughts

Get a Marlin, either the 1894C carbine or the Cowboy Limited. They are good out of the box, but not great. With a little work they are better. I have a '73 and a couple '66s. Yes, they're great too, but for starting out I recommend the Marlin. You can always sell it later and get something else, like a '73.

I wrote this earlier this evening. If you can afford it, go with a tuned 73 or 66.

If you have not been to matches, go before you buy anything. Read the previous sentence at least three times. By being well informed and knowing what feels good in your hands, you will save money in the long run.

Marlin Cowboy or 1873 repro.

Marlin is stronger, but not as fast for most shooters, without considerable tweaking.

73 is probably the best rifle for this game, but you will probably want it short stroked - it;s just sooo nice. This is a pricey option, but as daddy said, "Do it right, and do it once."

Going to matches will present you with a bewildering array of choices and opinions, but these are the best options available for SASS. .357 is fine, as is .38. These are the most common calibers in SASS, and as Charlie said, above, it'll save you some money in powder, brass, and lead.

Cheers, and welcome aboard,

FJT