SASS Wire Forum

Casting Bullets?

Dorado

Howdy folks, just got another question for y'all. I just got my first casting pot and mold to begin casting bullets. I've been trying to figure it out, without much success. I keep getting ripples in the bullet. I've tried several different temperatures, tried letting it set in the mold for different times. What do I do to stop this?

Heat your mold up. Place it on a hot plate or on top of your lead when it heats up. I found it heats better if you put the spruplate down. Or when you pour the lead let some run all over the mold to heat it faster. Keep casting and remelt the bad ones. It will eventually heat up. When it gets too hot, your bullets will get "frosty".

I am by no means an expert caster. However, I have had that issue and solved it by letting the mold get good and hot before making good bullets. The first part of a batch usually go straight into the scrap pile until the mold gets hot. I am using an aluminum mold, which is hard to get hot when using a ladle (not a bottom pour). I bought a cheap hot plate to set the mold on to keep it hot. The bullets starting coming out looking a lot better after that.

Your results may vary

I am NOT an expert.

Is it a cast iron mold? If so clean with white gas or such to get as much oil out before starting. Same with a new alum. mold. Might need to flux metal and change alloy. Careful about getting a drop of water in lead pot so pre heat lead, also makes it melt sooner. Gary

Is it a cast iron mold? If so clean with white gas or such to get as much oil out before starting. Same with a new alum. mold. Might need to flux metal and change alloy. Careful about getting a drop of water in lead pot so pre heat lead, also makes it melt sooner. Gary

Just some tips that I use:

1. Melt WW into ingots.

2. Use bottom pour heater.

3. Melt 10-11 lbs of ingots + 1% tin at a time, at High temp to remove most impurites, then lower temp of lead to pour. Flux with wax if desired.