SASS Wire Forum

Cutting shotgun barrels down

Cassalong Hopidy

I am thinking of having the barrels on my Browning BSS cut down from 26" to 20" to make it easier to handle. The barrels are modified and improved cylinder now. If I do this I will put Trulock chokes in them and am wondering how you would choke them? My inclination is to go with improved cylinder in both barrels. I use the gun only for cowboy action shooting.

Cassalong Hopidy

If you are gonna get it tubed then yeah IC is one of your options. Any tighter is just not needed for our sport. I have been running a BSS cut to 22" open choked for 4 years now and have had great success with it, even on the occasional 20 yard bonus knockdown and many flyers. It ain't what you asked but I would take the money that you are gonna spend getting it choked and buy shotshells or reloading components and practice your tail off, you'll be much farther ahead.

Deuce

I always appreciate your advice. Are you saying that you don't think much is gained in terms of gun weight/maneuverability by cutting it from 26" to 20"?

Cassalong

Deuce

I always appreciate your advice. Are you saying that you don't think much is gained in terms of gun weight/maneuverability by cutting it from 26" to 20"?

Cassalong

No, was saying that not much is gained by installing choke tubes. A 20-22" is gonna manuever better within props regardless of what anyone says. Basically my message was to save your money and don't choke tube the barrels. Cut them for sure. I have never felt disadvantaged using a open choke gun. You will get lots of opinions on this, and installing choke tubes used to be a very popular mod that we would do to our short scatterguns. But as times have progressed it has become a less and less popular mod. simply because it's not needed.