SASS Wire Forum

Springfield 1903 question

Beauregard Quitman

I just picked up a 1903 manufactured by Remington in Dec 1942. Now I'm new to the gun so I started doing research on it. It seems this rifle was manufactured just before they got rid of the front ladder-style sight on the barrel and put the peep sight on the receiver (it has the ladder-style sight). Does the A3 designation apply to just rifles with the latter style sight or does it apply to all guns made from about Dec 1942 on? I gathered that collectors are very strict about what they call a 1903A1 but that the US Army wasn't quite as particular.

I'm interested in the correct designation from curiosity more then anything else. While the rifle is in very good shape it has been sporterized and has no historic value, I'm just going to make a project gun out of it and return it to as close to original as I can. Fortunately whoever sporterized didn't modify the receiver, barrel or sights at all.

Beau

I just picked up a 1903 manufactured by Remington in Dec 1942. Now I'm new to the gun so I started doing research on it. It seems this rifle was manufactured just before they got rid of the front ladder-style sight on the barrel and put the peep sight on the receiver (it has the ladder-style sight). Does the A3 designation apply to just rifles with the latter style sight or does it apply to all guns made from about Dec 1942 on? I gathered that collectors are very strict about what they call a 1903A1 but that the US Army wasn't quite as particular.

I'm interested in the correct designation from curiosity more then anything else. While the rifle is in very good shape it has been sporterized and has no historic value, I'm just going to make a project gun out of it and return it to as close to original as I can. Fortunately whoever sporterized didn't modify the receiver, barrel or sights at all.

Beau

I'm pretty sure the A3 designation was just for those with the receiver sight.

Doc