SASS Wire Forum

Who makes the best Wild Bunch rig?

grubstake charlie

I'm just getting into the Wild Bunch side match. One of the local clubs is starting a monthly WB match. I have all the guns, but I am currently using various mix and match leather and so I am looking for a WB rig.

So, let me know who you think makes the best Wild Bunch rig, and why you think it is best. I always try to purchase top quality (within reason) but am more interested in rig functionality than fancy looks.

Do you prefer a single belt rig or two belts. From what I can see it looks like a few of the better shooters like mags and reloads on a 2nd (shotgun) belt, and only the pistol on the main belt. It seems to me that speed of mag swaps and any reloads are important and your rig should be designed to help speed those activities.

You should have asked this over on the WBAS website.

Not here.

OK, I will.

By the way, if what you say is correct (and I doubt it is), then I guess we cannot talk about or share any information on long range, pocket pistols, or any other side match related questions here either. Be sure to jump on folks for using the SASSwire for SASS questions too. :unsure:

Best WB rig: Bob Mernickle, Mernickle leather

Hands down the best, with 45 acp loops and as many extra 2 mag speed pouches as you want.I have 6 double mag pouches for my rig plus loops.

I don't shoot much WB, but i sure like the rig Bob made for me and even use it as a 'regular' 1911 rig in the field hunting as a sidearm rig for my 1911's.

http://www.mernickleholsters.com/er/bm_erwb.html

Hands down the best, with 45 acp loops and as many extra 2 mag speed pouches as you want.I have 6 double mag pouches on my rig plus loops.

I don't shoot much WB, but i sure like the rig Bob made for me and even use it as a 'regular' 1911 rig in the field hunting as a sidearm rig for my 1911's.

Thanx SS, I like the looks of the Mernichke rig and Bob's quality is 2nd to none.