Jump to content
SASS Wire Forum

PaleWolf Brunelle, #2495L

RO Committee
  • Posts

    12,588
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    35

Posts posted by PaleWolf Brunelle, #2495L

  1. 11 minutes ago, H. K. Uriah, SASS #74619 said:


    It's that pesky comma!   If it were not there, it would mean specifically hands not touching the firearm.  With the comma, it means nothing touching the firearm.

    Oh good grief...   Grammar!   :)

     

    ...which is exactly why the RO1 version will be replacing the SHB version. :rolleyes:

     

    • Thanks 1
    • Haha 2
  2. I've added a recommendation to the list of edits to make the SHB definition on page 13 match that of the RO1 text:

     

    - If no starting position is given, the shooter shall stand upright with revolvers holstered, hands at the sides not touching any firearm. (SASS default)

    RO1 p.21

     

     
    • Like 1
    • Thanks 1
  3. 1 hour ago, Sedalia Dave said:

    PWB,

     

    Doesn't this observation eliminate the possibility that the rifle just happened to land perfectly on a previously ejected case.

     

    I was replying specifically to the bolded circumstances presented in a "What if?" situation related to the OP.
     

    • Thanks 1
  4. 1 hour ago, Tennessee williams said:

    I been looking for the quote, and can't find it. Maybe I'm wrong but I could've sworn I remember something along the lines of "a spent round in the receiver OF A GUN FROM WHICH IT WAS ORIGINALLY LOADED". The Holler portion of this sentence would keep a piece of rifle brass falling into the port of a 97 from being a call, but in my opinion would also make it not matter if a piece of brass bounced off the wall and into the TO and back into the receiver. It'd still be a MSV. 

    My personal opinion is don't change the call. It would make calling the MSV too objective. A good example is the first few replies on here and talk of not knowing how it got there or if it was touching the carrier etc.

     

    PWB, am I miss remembering my remembrance or did I forget that I never knew in the first place.

     

    See previously quoted rule:

    Quote

    Leaving empty or live round(s) in a magazine, action, or carrier of the long gun in which it was loaded.

    SHB p.22

     

    also:

    Quote

    A live round left in the magazine or on the carrier, as well as an empty round left in the chamber, magazine, or on the carrier of the firearm in which it was loaded, results in a Minor Safety Violation.

    SHB p.27

    • Thanks 1
  5. 3 minutes ago, Abilene, SASS # 27489 said:

    Similar thing if the rifle was set down on its left side with the port up, and brass falls off the shooter's hat into the port.

     

    Question as to how an empty case from a Marlin ended up on the shooter's hat?

    • Haha 5
  6. 3 minutes ago, The Rainmaker, SASS #11631 said:

    I think I'm with Lone Spur Jake on this one (even if he IS just stirring the pot). What if the shooter actually DID lay the rifle down, action open on a spent case that was laying on the table? Still not convinced? What if he did that AND it was observed by a range officer? Everything was done correctly by the shooter, and he had the bad fortune of laying his rifle down on an empty (observed) and since it was technically "in" the action, he gets a penalty? I call BS on that one. Yes, the chances of this are not very high, but we do have to admit that most of us have seen some pretty crazy stuff happen. I vote no call... but that's just me.

     

    In that (extremely RARE instance considering the rifle in the OP is a side-ejecting Marlin) it would be a NO CALL...IMO.

    • Like 3
    • Thanks 1
  7. Something like that would likely include numerous links to YouTube "How To" videos.

    Why not just search YouTube for specific channels or vids on the subjects?

     

     

    • Thanks 4
  8. Short for "side order"...same as a menu that lists the main course (e.g., steak) with a choice of "sides":
     

    Quote

     

    Our steaks are charbroiled over an open flame. All Chicken, Seafood and Steak entrees come w/ vegetables, one side choice,

    soup or salad and our house-made dinner bread.

    Additional sides and sauces available for an extra charge.

     

    SIDES

    Fresh Cut French Fries or Tots $6.00 Sweet Potato Fries $6.75 Cajun add 50¢

    House-made Original Mac N’ Cheese $6.25

    Jalapeño Bacon, Pork Belly, Chicken or German Mac N’ Cheese $6.75

    Nickel Rice or Coleslaw $4.00

    Garlic Mashed Potatoes or Baked Potato served w/ butter & sour cream $4.25

    Loaded Baker topped w/ cheddar cheese, broccoli & bacon bits $7.00 add Chicken, Pork or Brisket $3.50

     

    Example from local eatery

    • Like 1
  9. 6 hours ago, Make do said:

    ...have noticed that the rule book talks about double cocking (dc) vs. single cocking (sc), with stating sc is faster. Is it true?

     

    Where exactly is this? 

    • Like 1
    • Thanks 2
  10. Before anyone points it out,

    I didn't feel it necessary to clarify that "LEGAL in all categories except for "Classic Cowboy/Cowgirl" obviously excludes FRONTIERSMAN as well.

    :P

    • Like 2
    • Haha 5
  11. 29 minutes ago, Lone Spur Jake SASS #7728 said:

    Thank you Pale Wolf.  AND, dual residents, whose primary residency, ie:, their driver's license, vehicle license plates, and voter ID is NOT from the state holding the Championship, should NOT be allowed to be the STATE champion.  They can be first overall or first in category, but they are NOT the STATE champion.

     

    Quote

    Age, gender, and residency are all to be confirmed/determined by the declaration on the individual’s state issued driver’s license or ID.

    SHB p.5

  12. 1 minute ago, July Smith said:

    Why would this be an issue?  If some cowboy/girl wanted to make it a personal goal to travel and win in every state/region good for them.

     

    That USED TO BE the case.

    An individual shooter can still aspire to be OVERALL match winner or 1st place in CATEGORY at any match attended.

    A competitor is not considered to be the CHAMPION of a state/region if they are not a RESIDENT of that state/region.

     

    • Like 1
    • Thanks 4
  13. The SASS rules regarding revolver calibers are:
    - Must be centerfire calibers of at least .32 caliber and no larger than .45 caliber or percussion calibers of at least .36 caliber and no larger than .45 caliber. 
     - Must be in a caliber commonly available in revolvers. Examples include, but are not limited to, .32-20, .32 Magnum, .357 Magnum, .38 Special, .44 Magnum, .44- 40, and .45 Colt.
    SHB p.37
     
    Since Ruger, Colt, and other revolver manufacturers have been producing revolvers in "rimless auto pistol" calibers for many years (including a number of convertible models in 9mm, .45ACP, 10mm, and others), single action revolvers in 9x19mm are LEGAL in all categories except for "Classic Cowboy/Cowgirl" (which require .40 caliber or larger, rimmed cartridges).
     
    All ammunition regulations apply (SHB p.26)
     
    Here is a link to the Shooters Handbook
    • Like 4
    • Thanks 5
  14. 7 minutes ago, Shooting Bull said:

    He saw that?!?!? :o

     

    I deactivated that feature immediately after that! :o
    I also put tape over the camera on my own laptop (and am unable to participate in ZOOM meetings). :ph34r:

     

     

    • Like 2
    • Haha 10
  15. 48 minutes ago, Krazy Kajun said:

    Howdy, I have a specific question on what are a shooter's options if they are shooting GF or Duelist and they lost count and after firing all 5 rounds they cock the pistol.  I know if you holster a cocked pistol that has no live rounds in it would be a SDQ.  My question is what are the shooter's options?

     

    1. The shooter could ask the TO if he can decock the pistol and if given permission could do it.  Is there any penalty for that?

    That is not an option once a round has gone downrange.

     

    2. The shooter could just, without asking the TO permission, pull the trigger with the gun pointed safely downrange and holster the gun.

    That is the ONLY option.

     

      Rules state you can't decock a gun to avoid a penalty but pulling the trigger is not decocking.  Is there any penalty for that?

    NO.

     

    3. Is there any other option where the situation could be resolved without the shooter incurring a penalty after accidentally cocking a revolver after all the rounds have been expended?

    NO.

     

    Kajun

     

    Just now, Krazy Kajun said:

    So easy answer is with the revolver safely pointed downrange just pull the trigger and continue on with no penalty.  Thank you, my question has been answered and this thread can be closed.

     

    Kajun

     

    CLOSING

    • Like 2
  16. Quote

    No firearm may be decocked on the firing line to avoid a penalty if cocked at the wrong time, position or location once a round has gone downrange. Once a revolver is cocked, the round must be expended (shot). However, if a round has not gone downrange, and under the direction and supervision of the TO, the revolver may be decocked. This requires a positive indication/acknowledgement from the TO for the shooter to do so.

    SHB p.14

    Quote

    Decock – lowering the hammer of a firearm using part of the hand (e.g., thumb) to impede the hammer’s fall.

    SHB p.42

     

    • Thanks 2
  17. ..."two-handed, gangster style that is currently more prevalent."  :rolleyes:

    ??

    First time I've ever heard that term used for what SASS defines as "Traditional" (SHB p.45:lol:

    • Like 1
  18. 2 hours ago, JackSlade said:

    Wait... Does that mean your first pistol shot in a stage could technically be a QuickDraw fan, with the 4 subsequent shots being regular duelist?

     

    NO.

    Quote

    Cowboy Action Shooting is NOT a fast-draw competition. Any unsafe handling in the course of a draw from the holster or any “fanning” to shoot a revolver is strictly forbidden. Slip-hammering is not the same as fanning and is legal.

    SHB p.14

     

    Penalty is a SDQ.

    REF: SHB p.22

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.